Skip to Content Menu

Luther Vandross’ Trailblazing Early Albums ‘Luther’ And ‘This Close To You’ Reissued For The First Time In Over Four Decades

Experience These Groundbreaking and Soulful Pieces of Music History by Pre-Ordering the Albums TODAY! 

In a thrilling announcement for music enthusiasts and Luther Vandross fans worldwide, Primary Wave Music and Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, are proud to unveil the re-release of the legendary R&B artist’s first two albums – Luther and This Close to You. Originally released on Cotillion Records, these seminal records are being made available commercially for the first time in over forty years. Both albums are available for pre-order now in multiple configurations that include Vinyl, CD, and Digital (Luther; This Close To You) and are set to release in April and June respectively. Exclusive bundles including newly designed merch for Luther have also been launched which can be pre-ordered on the official store –

1. Funky Music (Is A Part Of Me)
2. The 2nd Time Around
3. I’ll Get Along Fine
4. Everybody Rejoice (From the Tony Award Winning Musical, “THE WIZ”)
5. Emotion Eyes
6. This Strange Feeling
7. It’s Good For The Soul (Parts I And II)
1. This Is For Real
2. A Lover’s Change
3. Don’t Take The Time
4. Jealousy Is In Me
5. I’m Not Satisfied
6. This Close To You
7. Don’t Wanna Be A Fool
8. Come Back To Love
9. Follow My Love
Bonus Tracks – CD/Digital Only
8. The 2nd Time Around (Instrumental)
Bonus Tracks – CD/Digital Only
10. Can’t Get Enough Good Loving
11. Come Back To Love (Instrumental)
12. Don’t Wanna Be A Fool (Instrumental)

Reviving Luther Vandross’ foundational impact on R&B and soul, his inaugural albums return to the spotlight after four decades, blending timeless artistry and influence. The re-release coincides with the Sundance Film Festival-premiered documentary “Luther: Never Too Much” lauded as one of the most anticipated documentaries of 2024, magnifying his iconic status in the music realm.

In June 1976, the R&B landscape was forever changed with the debut of Luther Vandross’ album Luther, showcasing his extraordinary vocal talent, songwriting, and production skills. The album featured the hit “Funky Music (Is A Part Of Me),” which Luther Vandross and David Bowie reimagined into “Fascination” for Bowie’s iconic Young Americans, illustrating Vandross’ influence with his background vocals and arrangements. It also included “Everybody Rejoice (A Brand New Day)” from the award-winning musical “The Wiz,” marking the only recording of Vandross’ rendition of the song. On March 23, 1977, Vandross’ album This Close to You with his group Luther enchanted listeners with soulful tunes and deep lyrics, further cementing his status in the music industry.

For more information about Luther Vandross and the Cotillion Records release, visit