Skip to Content Menu

‘The Diary of Alicia Keys 20’ To Be Released December 1, 2023

Alicia Keys Celebrates the 20th Anniversary of Her Groundbreaking Sophomore Album with Digital Release of The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 and Once-in-a-Lifetime Live Performance of the Album at New York’s Webster Hall on Friday, December 1

Tickets On Sale November 3

Newly Expanded to Include 24 Tracks, The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 Premieres “Golden Child,” a Previously Unreleased Song from Alicia’s Personal Vault, Available in 360RA & Dolby Atmos

Alicia Keys celebrates the 20th anniversary of her multiplatinum, Grammy-winning and chart-topping sophomore album that debuted at number one on the Billboard charts with the digital release of The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 on Friday, December 1. Pre-save and pre-order HERE.

Keys will celebrate the milestone with an intimate, once-in-a-lifetime anniversary concert performing the album from top to bottom, in its entirety, at New York’s Webster Hall on Friday, December 1. Tickets for the event go on sale tomorrow, Friday, November 3. A portion of the price of each ticket will be donated to Keep A Child Alive.

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 featuring nine bonus tracks including “Golden Child,” a previously unreleased rarity from Alicia’s personal vault, available in 360RA and Dolby Atmos.

Four newly uprezzed music videos from The Diary of Alicia Keys–“Karma,” “You Don’t Know My Name,” “If I Ain’t Got You” and the live version of “Diary” (featuring Tony! Toni! Toné! and Jermaine Paul)–go live on Alicia’s YouTube channel on Friday, November 3, followed Wednesday, November 8 with the premiere of a lyric video for the previously unreleased “Golden Child.” Watch HERE

Additionally, there will be a special Pop Up at the AWAKE NY store on Orchard Street in New York on Friday, December 1 and Saturday, December 2. Alongside collaborative merch designed by AWAKE NY, there will be previously unseen memorabilia on display from the time of the album’s creation as well as one-of-a-kind artworks. More details will be announced soon.

Urban Outfitters celebrates the anniversary with an exclusive limited edition of The Diary of Alicia Keys on Champagne colored 12″ vinyl and a bonus 7″ vinyl single of “Streets of New York” (featuring Nas & Rakim), originally released on the European version of the album, and the previously unreleased “Streets of New York” (Instrumental). Packaging features a gatefold jacket, 7″ bonus single in cardboard inner sleeve with beautifully printed inner sleeves. Available for pre-order HERE

In early 2024, Vinyl Me, Please will release a limited edition 3LP Piano Key colored 12″ vinyl pressing, The Diary of Alicia Keys (VMP 20th Anniversary Edition), featuring the original album plus bonus tracks including remixes, alternate takes and a live recording of the first-ever performance of the album’s cuts at Webster Hall upon its release. The VMP 20th anniversary-edition record will also include a lyric and photo booklet featuring a handwritten letter from Alicia Keys, with one random purchaser receiving the original letter, all housed in a deluxe tri-fold linen-wrapped jacket and slipcase. The VMP package may be pre-ordered now HERE

Keys also recently previewed her musical HELL’S KITCHEN at The Public Theater in New York. Conceptualized by and featuring music written by Keys, and based on the book by Pulitzer Prize-finalist playwright Kristoffer Diaz, the exhilarating coming-of-age musical started previews October 24th and officially opens November 19th. The sold-out run has been extended through January 7, 2024. HELL’S KITCHEN is an unforgettable new musical based on a 17-year-old girl’s experiences and life in the dark but promising neighborhood of the same name. Featuring both newly created music and many of her soulful, iconic songs, HELL’S KITCHEN is not to be missed.

First released on December 2, 2003 on J Records, The Diary of Alicia Keys, the artist’s much-anticipated second album, debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 with the best first week’s sales for a female artist that year. A formidable successor to her blockbuster debut (2001’s multi-platinum Songs In A Minor entered the Billboard 200 at #1 before winning Alicia an unprecedented five Grammy Awards including Best New Artist), The Diary of Alicia Keys became her second successive #1 album, generating three Top 10 singles–“You Don’t Know My Name,” “If I Ain’t Got You” and “Diary”–while adding three new Grammy Awards–Best R&B Album, Best Female R&B Vocal Performance (“If I Ain’t Got You”) and Best R&B Song (“You Don’t Know My Name”)–to her career total. The album has sold more than five million copies in the United States and more than eight million worldwide.

ALICIA KEYSis a 15-time GRAMMY® Award-winning singer, songwriter, musician, producer, founder of Keys Soulcare, New York Times best-selling author, film/television and Broadway producer, accomplished actress, entrepreneur, and a powerful force in the world of activism. Since the release of her monumental 2001 debut album, Songs in A Minor, Keys has sold over 65 million records, over 5 billion streams and built an unparalleled repertoire of hits and accomplishments. Keys has become the #1 RIAA certified Female R&B artist of the millennium with over 37 million certified track sales (US) and 20 million album sales (US). She released her eighth studio album, Keys (Originals and Unlocked)—a double album—in 2021 followed by a deluxe version in 2022 and a sold-out Alicia + Keys World Tour that celebrated the Keys and Alicia albums. She recently completed her first Latin American leg of that tour to rave reviews and ravenous audiences. Keys released her book More Myself: A Journey via Flatiron Books, which debuted and spent multiple weeks on the New York Times Bestseller List. In March 2022, she released her first graphic novel titled Girl on Fire with HarperCollins. Keys released her first-ever holiday album Santa Baby in November 2022 which includes four original songs, including the single “December Back 2 June.” Keys recently completed a spectacular, 360-degree show, the Keys to the Summer Tour, which hit 22 cities across North America. Hell’s Kitchen, the original stage musical Keys diligently worked for 13 years to create, opens November 19 at The Public Theater.

* * * * *

The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 – track list

1. Harlem’s Nocturne

2. Karma

3. Heartburn

4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk On By

5. You Don’t Know My Name

6. If I Ain’t Got You

7. Diary (featuring Tony! Toni! Toné! & Jermaine Paul)

8. Dragon Days

9. Wake Up

10. So Simple (featuring Lellow)

11. When You Really Love Someone

12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude)

13. Slow Down

14. Samsonite Man

15. Nobody Not Really

16. If I Ain’t Got You (Orchestral Version) (featuring Queen Charlotte’s Global Orchestra) (from Netflix’s “Queen Charlotte”)

17. Golden Child

18. You Don’t Know My Name/Will You Ever Know It (Reggae Mix)

19. Diary (featuring Tony! Toni! Toné! & Jermaine Paul) (Hani Mixshow)

20. If I Ain’t Got You (Spanish Version) (featuring Queen Charlotte’s Global Orchestra (from Netflix’s “Queen Charlotte”)

21. Streets of New York (AOL Broadband Rocks! Live at Webster Hall – December 1, 2003)

22. If I Ain’t Got You (AOL Broadband Rocks! Live at Webster Hall – December 1, 2003)

23. Diary (featuring Jermaine Paul) (AOL Broadband Rocks! Live at Webster Hall – December 1, 2003)

24. You Don’t Know My Name (AOL Broadband Rocks! Live at Webster Hall – December 1, 2003)