Skip to Content Menu

Miles Davis ‘Everything’s Beautiful’ #1 Jazz Album

The Recordings of Miles Davis Reimagined by Robert Glasper

Out Now Featuring Erykah Badu, KING, John Scofield, Bilal, Ledisi, DJ Spinna, Stevie Wonder, Laura Mvula, Hiatus Kaiyote & More

Debuted #1 on the Billboard Jazz Album Chart

Davis’ Highest Billboard Positions On Additional Charts, Including #5 – R&B Album, #10 – R&B/Hip Hop Album & #17 – Tastemaker Album

Everything’s Beautiful is the visionary exploration of Miles Davis’ music, featuring reimagined interpretations of his music produced by Grammy-winning jazz/R&B/hip-hop musician Robert Glasper. The album is out now and is part of Columbia/Legacy’s commemoration of the globally renowned music innovator’s 90th birthday. Released on May 27, the album debuted at #1 on Billboard’s Jazz Album chart, and first week sales saw Davis charting the highest he ever has on the R&B Album Chart (#5), R&B/Hip Hop Album Chart (#10) and the Tastemaker Album Chart (#17).

The album is a beautifully crafted collection produced by Glasper, blending a diverse group of master takes and outtakes from across the incomparable Miles Davis Columbia catalog with an impressive lineup of contemporary artists and musicians to create original interpretations. Some of the featured guest artists on Everything’s Beautiful include Illa J, Erykah Badu, Bilal, Phonte, Hiatus Kaiyote, Laura Mvula, KING, Georgia Ann Muldrow, John Scofield, Ledisi, DJ Spinna and Stevie Wonder.

Everything’s Beautiful is unlike any other in Davis’ discography. From the familiar (riffs and passages within the catalog) to the obscure (samples of Miles’ in-studio instructions spoken after false starts), Glasper has built something unique but still unquestionably Miles. The cover art was created by Francine Turk and integrates elements of Miles Davis’ artwork. With the cover, Turk creates a visual that is similar to the idea of Robert Glasper taking fragments of Miles music and reinterpreting in a unique and modern way. Everything’s Beautiful is available now via iTunes and at the official Miles Davis store on

The album was executive produced with members of Davis’ family—Erin Davis, Cheryl Davis and Vince Wilburn, Jr. from Miles Davis Properties, LLC.

In addition to the album, Legacy Recordings and Polygraph launched the immersive destination website The Universe of Miles Davis to commemorate Miles’ 90th birthday. The site first premiered on and has been covered by Fast Company, Billboard & more. The Universe of Miles Davis uses stunning visuals and animation to construct charts, graphs and interactive models illustrating that Miles Davis’ larger-than-life impact extends beyond music into the worlds of fashion, film, politics, fine art, popular culture, social media and more. Visit The Universe of Miles Davis here.


“By being respectful of the artist’s legacy while also making some smart, contemporary production choices, Glasper’s best work proves as an ideal vehicle for paying tribute to an artist who had a firm feel for tradition, but who never stayed fixed in one place for very long.” – Seth Colter Walls, Pitchfork

“The off the beaten path song and singer/rapper selections sidestep the typical kid gloves treatment most jazz cats lay on Miles’ material and the skin graft with beats-the-kids-like approach of other jazz-meets-hip-hop ventures. Our compliments to the chefs and their curator.” – Greg Tate, Rolling Stone

“…seductive new album… featuring his remixes of Davis tracks from the Columbia/Legacy vault, with a starry assortment of guests.” – Nate Chinen, The New York Times

“… Glasper offered an interesting, genre-skipping snapshot of what Davis’ legacy of exploration means to him, and kept his own vision very much alive in the process.” – Chris Barton, Los Angeles Times

“Glasper came away with a warm, life-affirming album of eleven revamped Miles classics assisted by a cast of collaborators including Bilal, Erykah Badu, John Scofield, Stevie Wonder, and more.” – Craig Jenkins, Noisey

“…creating an album that’s equal measures salute and reconstruction, invoking the spirit of Davis by chopping his rarely heard vocals–coughs, throat-clearings, whistles and mumbles–as if the giant himself were overseeing the sessions.” – Michael “ZO” Gonik, Okayplayer

01. “Talking Shit”
02. “Ghetto Walkin’” featuring Bilal
03. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
04. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
05. “Violets” featuring Phonte
06. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
07. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula
08. “Song For Selim” featuring KING
09. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow
10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder

Watch Official Video for “Ghetto Walkin’” – ||