• Sara Evans - Slow Me Down (Audio)
  • Sara Evans - Slow Me Down
  • Sara Evans - Anywhere (Audio)
  • Sara Evans - A Little Bit Stronger
  • Sara Evans - My Heart Can't Tell You No
  • Sara Evans - I Could Not Ask For More
  • Sara Evans - Suds In The Bucket
  • Sara Evans - Perfect
  • Sara Evans - A Real Fine Place To Start
  • Sara Evans - No Place That Far
  • Sara Evans - You'll Always Be My Baby
  • Sara Evans - Born To Fly
  • Sara Evans - Cheatin'
  • Sara Evans - As If
  • Sara Evans - Saints & Angels
  • Sara Evans - My Heart Can't Tell You No
  • Sara Evans - Low
  • Sara Evans - "A Little Bit Stronger" Interview
  • Sara Evans - Cryin' Game
  • 2011 Red Carpet Interview (Academy Of Country Music Awards)
Click anywhere to
exit gallery

Sara Evans

Singer-songwriter, product of the late-1990s Nashville pop-country movement, imbues radio ready songs with neo-traditional flair.

A female country traditionalist during a time when they were quite rare around Nashville, Sara Evans gained her RCA contract in 1996 after her rendition of Buck Owens' perennial chestnut "I've Got a Tiger by the Tail" impressed its songwriter, Harlan Howard, so much that he considered himself duty-bound to help her. While growing up poor in rural Missouri, Evans performed with her family's band -- at the age of four -- and even recorded in Nashville several years later. She eventually married and moved to Oregon in 1992, but continued to perform as Sara Evans & North Santiam.

The group opened for Willie Nelson and Tim McGraw, among others, but Evans eventually returned to Nashville to try to remake her career. There she impressed Howard enough that he recommended her to RCA executives, who connected her with producer Pete Anderson (a veteran of many albums by Dwight Yoakam).

After her debut album, Three Chords & the Truth, was released in July 1997, Evans earned a special honor by being handpicked by George Jones to open a special show in Nashville. No Place That Far followed a year later, and in 2000 she resurfaced with Born to Fly.

The title track was a big hit for Evans, and the album eventually peaked in the Top Ten of Billboard's country charts. She followed that up with 2003's Restless, and returned in 2005 with the Top Ten hit Real Fine Place.

Following some tumultuous developments in her personal life, Evans stayed out of recording studios for the latter half of the 2000s. Her label issued Greatest Hits in 2007.

She returned to the popular arena with Stronger in early 2011. Reentering the studio in November 2012 with producer Mark Bright, Evans set about recording her seventh studio album, Slow Me Down.

Preceded by the release of the title track in September 2013, the album appeared early in March 2014. ~ John Bush.

Play Sara Evans playlist Play Sara Evans videos Gallery





1990s, 2000s, 2010s


Country, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop, Alt-Country, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Country-Folk, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Pop, Pop/Rock
Twitter Spotify iTunes Facebook