Skip to Content Menu

Modest Mouse ‘Good News For People Who Love Bad News’ 20th Anniversary

Modest Mouse To Release Good News For People Who Love Bad News 20th Anniversary: Digital Expanded Edition and Vinyl Release

Digital Expanded Edition out April 5th, 2-LP Vinyl Out May 17th

Listen to “Ocean Breathes Salty (Poolside Remix)”

On Tour with Pixies and Cat Power This Summer

On April 5th, Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release a digital expanded edition of Modest Mouse’s 2004 breakthrough album, Good News For People Who Love Bad News in celebration of its 20th anniversary. The digital release, Good News For People Who Love Bad News: 20th Anniversary Expanded Edition, features eight bonus tracks, including brand new remixes from Poolside, Jacknife Lee, Dan the Automator, MGMT’s Andrew VanWyngarden and more. See the complete track listing below.

Also available to pre-order is the 2-LP vinyl version of the project, Good News For People Who Love Bad News (Deluxe Edition), out May 17th. Remastered for vinyl in opaque baby pink and opaque spring green, the package includes an alternate album cover, 8-page booklet and five of the new remixes.

Modest Mouse ‘Good News For People Who Love Bad News’ 20th Anniversary

Pre-order the Digital Deluxe version and the 2-LP Vinyl releases HERE.

Released by Epic Records on April 6, 2004, Good News For People Who Love Bad News offered a unique blend of existential lyricism and innovative soundscapes which helped Modest Mouse break out of the rock underground after more than a decade of existence. The album, which has been certified double platinum for U.S. shipments of 2 million copies, is hailed as an alternative classic on the strength of songs such as the Modern Rock chart-topping, 5-times platinum single “Float On,” the gold-certified “The World At Large” and “Ocean Breathes Salty.”

Good News For People Who Love Bad Newswas written by Isaac Brock, Dann Gallucci, Eric Judy and Benjamin Weikel, with additional contributions from Tom Peloso, The Dirty Dozen Brass Band and The Flaming Lips. Its success propelled Modest Mouse to new levels of visibility without compromising its hard-won artistic freedom, which was no small feat at a time when many once-independent acts were creatively waylaid after signing to major labels.

The band has also shared the video for “The World At Large/Stiff Animal Fantasy,” directed by Jason Foster and Isaac Brock. It was previously only available on the DVD side of the Good News For People Who Love Bad News DualDisc and has been up-rezzed to HD. Watch HERE

Also, up-rezzed to HD and available to watch today from the aforementioned DualDisc DVD is a 5-minute interview piece titled “Schoolhouse Brock – Modest Mouse On Trial” directed by and featuring Isaac Brock. A must-see, the interview perfectly encapsulates Brock’s penchant for straight-faced dry humor, and features the band’s actual lawyer at the time Dave Frishberg, who was a pianist, vocalist and composer, and well-known for writing and singing the classic Schoolhouse Rock song “I’m Just a Bill.” Watch HERE

Modest Mouse will tour this summer with Pixies and Cat Power, beginning May 31 in Charleston, S.C. See all dates below.

Good News For People Who Love Bad News: 20th Anniversary Expanded Edition (digital edition) track list:

1. Horn Intro

2. The World At Large

3. Float On

4. Ocean Breathes Salty

5. Dig Your Grave

6. Bury Me With It

7. Dance Hall

8. Bukowski

9. This Devil’s Workday

10. The View

11. Satin in a Coffin

12. Interlude (Milo)

13. Blame it on the Tetons

14. Black Cadillacs

15. One Chance

16. The Good Times Are Killing Me

17. The World At Large (Enough Love to Kill Us All/Jeremy Sherrer Remix) * ^

18. Float On (Dan the Automator Remix) * ^

19. Ocean Breathes Salty (Poolside Remix) * ^

20. Bury Me With It (Jacknife Lee Remix) * ^

21. Bukowski (Congleton/Godbey Remix)

22. The View (Andrew VanWyngarden Remix) *

23. One Chance (Dennis Herring Remix) * ^

24. The Good Times Are Killing Me (Justin Raisen Remix) *

* Brand new / previously unreleased remix

^ Included on vinyl

Modest Mouse with Pixies and Cat Power:

05-31 Charleston, SC – Firefly Distillery

06-01 Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion

06-02 Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater

06-04 Atlanta, GA – Cadence Bank Amphitheatre at Chastain Park

06-05 Cincinnati, OH – The Andrew J Brady Music Center

06-07 Pittsburgh, OH – Stage AE*

06-08 Toronto, Ontario – Budweiser Stage

06-09 Laval, Quebec – Place Bell

06-11 Gilford, NH – Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion

06-12 Philadelphia, PA – TD Pavilion at the Mann

06-14 Columbia, MD – Merriweather Post Pavilion

06-15 Queens, NY – Forest Hills Stadium

06-16 Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center

06-18 Sterling Heights, MI – Michigan Lottery Amphitheatre at Freedom Hill

06-19 Chicago, IL – Huntington Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island

06-20 Minneapolis, MN – Surly Brewing Company

06-22 Madison, WI – Breese Stevens Field

06-23 Waukee, IA – Vibrant Music Hall

06-24 Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theatre

06-26 Austin, TX – Germania Insurance Amphitheater

06-27 Irving, TX – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory

06-28 Rogers, AR – Walmart AMP

06-30 Greenwood Village, CO – Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre

*Modest Mouse headlining set w/ Cat Power supporting

Website Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram YouTube