Skip to Content Menu

Sony Music Entertainment’s Certified To Release ‘Raised By Rap: 50 Years Of Hip Hop’ Compilation On July 28th


Continuing an extensive celebration of Hip Hop’s 50TH birthday in 2023, Sony Music Entertainment (SME) and Certified proudly present a brand new commemorative double-LP vinyl entitled Raised By Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop in stores on July 28, 2023.  It collates 25 of rap’s most definitive generational anthems on one body of work. It will be available in an array of exclusive vinyl colorways at Target and Urban Outfitters. As of June 1st, it is available for pre-order HERE.

Raised By Rap is emblematic of Hip Hop history with hits from across all decades. The compilation showcases the legacy and footprint Sony Music Entertainment artists have had on the genre. Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock [“It Takes Two”] and RUN DMC [“It’s Tricky”] rep the eighties, while Wu-Tang Clan [“C.R.E.A.M. (Cash Rules Everything Around Me)”] and Nas [“NY State of Mind”] highlight the nineties. OutKast [“Ms. Jackson”] soundtracks the turn-of-the-century, and Lil Nas X [“Old Town Road” (feat. Billy Ray Cyrus) (Remix)] and BIA [“Whole Lotta Money”] signal the genre’s future right now.

The compilation spans eras of Hip Hop and illustrates its constant evolution with careful curation and expansive scope unlike anything else in the culture right now.

It arrives on the heels of a series of high-profile releases by Certified—the digital destination platform celebrating SME’s Hip Hop catalogs. Prior vinyl drops have ranged from Nas’s Made You Look: God’s Son Live 2002 to RUN DMC’s Tougher Than Leather alongside the release of a new socially driven content series called “Made By Hip Hop.”

See below for the full tracklisting.

Raised By Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop Tracklisting

Disc 1, Side A

  1. “Genius Rap,” Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde
  2. “It’s Tricky,” RUN DMC
  3. “It Takes Two,” Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock
  4. “Can I Kick It?” A Tribe Called Quest
  5. “Summertime” (Single Edit), DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince
  6. “Funkdafied,” Da Brat

Disc 1, Side B

  1. “Insane in the Brain,” Cypress Hill
  2. “C.R.E.A.M.,” Wu-Tang Clan featuring Method Man, Raekwon, Inspectah Deck, Buddha Monk
  3. “Shook Ones, Pt. II,” Mobb Deep
  4. “Ready or Not,” Fugees, Ms. Lauryn Hill, Wyclef Jean, Pras
  5. “N.Y. State of Mind,” Nas
  6. “Watch Out Now,” The Beatnuts featuring Yellaklaw

Disc 2, Side A

  1. “Ms. Jackson,” Outkast
  2. “Grindin’,” Clipse
  3. “Hip-Hop,” dead prez
  4. “Poppin’ My Collar,” Three 6 Mafia
  5. “Blow the Whistle,” Too $hort
  6. “Int’l Players Anthem (I Choose You),” UGK (Underground Kingz) featuring Outkast

Disc 2, Side B

  1. “goosebumps,” Travis Scott
  2. “a lot,” 21 Savage
  3. “Streets,” Doja Cat
  4. “Mask Off,” Future
  5. “Praise The Lord (Da Shine),” A$AP Rocky featuring Skepta
  6. “Old Town Road” (Remix), Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus

Over the course of the next few months, Certified will also be releasing more vinyl releases in the wake of Raised by Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop. These will include re-releases of albums such as Project Pat’s Mista Don’t Play Everythangs Workin.

As part of Sony’s HH50 campaign, on October 6th, Big Pun’s 25th anniversary of Capital Punishment will be released on Vinyl in partnership with Get On Down. Pre-order HERE. Additionally, Get On Down will be releasing a limited 25-year anniversary pressing of Capital Punishment on double-colored vinyl in a new gatefold jacket with commemorative OBI bundled with a 7-inch single of “Still Not a Player” b/w “Twinz (Deep Cover 98).” The limited edition bundle is currently available for preorder now exclusively at Get On Down.

Get On Down is also releasing, for the first time on vinyl since its original release in 2001, Project Pat’s second studio album Mista Don’t PlayEverythangs Workin in two limited exclusive colored vinyl variants. Produced by Three 6 Mafia’s DJ Paul and Juicy J, Mista Don’t Play is available to order now exclusively at Get On Down.

RUN DMC’s 6th studio album Down With The King was released thirty years ago on May 4th, 1993. Get On Down will be releasing later this year a limited double-colored vinyl edition in a gatefold jacket bundled with a colored 7-inch single of “Down With The King” featuring Pete Rock and CL Smooth b/w “Come On Everybody” featuring Q-Tip. Read about RUN DMC’s historic comeback HERE and sign up to be notified when Down With The King 30th Anniversary Edition becomes available to order. Tougher Than Leather, RUN DMC’s fourth studio album, is also celebrating 35 years and is available on translucent blue vinyl at Get On Down.

In collaboration with Vinyl Me, Please, multiple albums will also be reissued on vinyl as part of VMP’s Fifty Years of Hip Hop campaign. Hip Hop fans can look forward to the highly requested represses of TLC’s hit albums CrazySexyCool on 2LP Red and White vinyl and FanMail on 2LP Blue with White vinyl including a bonus 7″ w/ extended versions of “No Scrubs” & “U In Me” – which became available for preorder HERE in the VMP store on June 1st.

Vinyl Me Please’s Hip Hop subscribers can look forward to historic albums being featured such as Q-Tip’s Kamaal The Abstract (July), RUN DMC Tougher Than Leather (October), Boogie Down Productions By All Means Necessary (January 2024), and Wu-Tang The W (April 2024).

Vinyl Me, Please and SME’s Certified are collaborating to present a pop-up experience celebrating the 50th anniversary of Hip Hop at the Rock The Bells Festival at Forest Hills Stadium in Queens, NY on August 5, 2023. Show goers who stop by the event can shop for exclusive vinyl and sign up for special offers. Tickets to the festival can be purchased HERE.

About Certified

Certified is dedicated to the history and influence of R&B and Hip-Hop, music that continues to shape the culture. With exclusive access to Sony Music Entertainment’s (SME) archives, Certified provides access to rare and unreleased albums, singles, remixes, photos and video footage from iconic SME labels like Jive, Loud, Ruffhouse, J Records, Arista, LaFace, So So Def, Profile, RCA Records, Epic, and Columbia—all to help tell the stories of undisputed classics of Hip-Hop and R&B.


About Vinyl Me, Please

VMP (Vinyl Me, Please) is a community of explorers and storytellers who navigate between sounds that are lost and found to create transcendent tangible music experiences. VMP offers customers four different monthly vinyl subscriptions (Essentials, Classics, Hip Hop, and Country), an online record store with exclusive pressings, and a multitude of editorial content, storytelling, and events. In February 2023, VMP also launched a year-long dedicated record club with Dolly Parton titled VMP Limited: Vinyl Me, Parton. Through these offerings we embark on explorations of familiar sounds from our past, and new sounds for our future. To learn more, visit and follow @vinylmeplease on socials.

About Get On Down

Founded in 2010 Get On Down has reissued classic Hip-Hop albums spanning the 80s, 90s and 2000s on vinyl, CD, cassette, 7-inch, and as deluxe box sets and limited edition bundles celebrating landmark releases.  Get On Down continues to support Hip-Hop culture by releasing and distributing albums by independent Hip-Hop artists and producers from the East Coast to the West Coast and Down South. More recently Get On Down has added funk, soul, and jazz albums that were integral to the foundations of Hip-Hop. Visit and follow on IG @shopgetondown to get new Hip-Hop releases and limited edition reissues.